Spotify links for GMCD playlists

Posted on 2024-01-07
Tags: ,

I’ve apparently been making GMCDs since 2006. These more-or-less annual playlists evolved to basically represent “what music I liked” in a given year. I used to burn CDs and give them to friends+family at Christmas time. But mostly nobody has a working CD player anymore… and even if they do, it isn’t the most convenient way of listening to a playlist.

This year, someone asked me why I wasn’t using spotify, and I decided to give it a try. While I like having a music collection that doesn’t vanish if I unsubscribe from a service, I am impressed with the ability to make and share playlists in spotify.

So now I’ve make playlists on spotify that (mostly) reflects the tracks on the original playlists. I’ve now included links to the corresponding spotify URL in the playlist descriptions. This includes the most recent GMCD-2023-12 which you can find on spotify here.

(Of course, it is probably easier to just find the playlists be finding my spotify account…)

You might have noticed in the preceding paragraph that I wrote “(mostly) reflects”. There were a handful of tracks that I couldn’t seem to locate in spotify, and I just left those tracks out of the spotify playlists. Examples of missing recordings include:

There are probably some other missing items that I’m forgetting at the moment.